AAUP in Second Letter to National Louis University Warns of Possible Investigation.

This is a follow up letter from the American Association of Universtiy Professors requesting a response from National Louis with regard to its planned layoffs of tenured and non-tenured faculty and the cancellation of various programs. It is important to adhere to AAUP recommended standards and guidelines when implementing such drastic actions that affect the careers of so many faculty.


May 21, 2012

Dr. Nivine Megahed President                                                                                                                                      National Louis University                                                                                                                   120 S. Michigan Ave.                                                                                                                    Chicago, Illinois 60603

Dear President Megahed:

We have yet to receive a response to our letter to you of May 7, setting forth our concerns over the action taken by the National Louis University administration to terminate the appointments of a large number of tenured as well as other long-serving non-tenured faculty members pursuant to a decision to discontinue numerous academic programs. In the intervening two weeks, we have been informed about discussions taking place between the NLU administration and some of the affected tenured faculty members looking toward a possible extension of their appointments. We understand, however, that other termination notices remain in effect, and that most of the concerns we raised remain unaddressed.

In the absence of significant positive developments, our Association’s general secretary is prepared to authorize a formal investigation of the situation at National Louis University which would result in a report to the larger academic community. Before we determine on that course of action, however, we would like very much to have your response to the concerns we have conveyed.


B. Robert Kreiser

Associate Secretary

cc: Mr. Richard M. Ross, Jr., Chair, Board of Trustees ‘

Dr. Christine J. Quinn, Provost

Dr. Walter Roettger, Dean, College of Arts and Sciences

Dr. Alison R. Hilsabeck, Dean, National College of Education

Mr. Thomas R. Bergmann, Vice President of Human Resources

Professor Timothy Collins, Chair, Faculty Senate

Professor Michelle Turner Mangan, Chair, Senate Finance Committee

Professor Todd Price, President, NLU Chapter AAUP

Professor Michael Harkins, President, Illinois Conference AAUP

Professor Peter Kirstein, Chair, Illinois Conference Committee A on Academic Freedom and Tenure

This entry was posted in Academia/Academic Freedom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply