David Horowitz Includes Professor Kirstein as one of 101 Most Dangerous Professors.

See a more comprehensive response to my being labeled “Dangerous” in the book that profiles leftist professors who are severely criticised by the author.

Why I am described as “dangerous” is somewhat puzzling to me. After all I merely call for a communist America. Is that dangerous, unpatriotic or an intemperate display of political incorrectness? I am antiwar. Is that position contrary to the national interest? Or is it patriotically incorrect that is contrary to certain elite power maximers’ interest?

David Horowitz, with whom I will be debating the Iraq War on March 29 in Chicago, has released a book that allegedly identifies the 101 most dangerous professors in the United States: The Professors: The 101 Most Dangerous Academics. Somewhat reminiscent of the McCarthy Era’s Red Channels blacklist, I am included in this most wanted list. We are also labeled the “worst” in a cover promo by Laura Ingraham!

I was initially informed of my inclusion in this work by Doctor Roger Bowen, the distinguished General Secretary of the A.A.U.P. I have responded seriatim on my blog and have linked some of the additional commentary above. It is yet another effort to discredit progressive professors who are not ideologically compatible with the conservative weltaunschaung of editor, journalist and author David Horowitz.

If any of the professors listed here prefer I not reproduce their names, kindly e-mail me at kirstein@sxu.edu. Yet at this point there has been considerable dissemination of the “dangerous” professors list. I suspect most of the Horowitz 101, however, are either pleased or insouciant about their inclusion on a blacklist, or academic-vilification list. This genre commenced in the early Bush era with Daniel Pipes’s despicable and unseemly Campus Watch.

Arcadia University: Warren Haffar

Ball State University: George Wolfe

Baylor University: Marc Ellis

Boston University: Howard Zinn

Brandeis University: Gordon Fellman, Dessima Williams

Brooklyn College: Priya Parmar, Timothy Shortell

Cal State University, Fresno: Sasan Fayazmanesh

California State University, Long Beach: Ron (Maulana) Karenga

City University of New York: Stanley Aronowitz, bell hooks, Leonard
Jeffries, Eve Kosofsky Sedgwick

College of the Holy Cross : Jerry Lembcke

Columbia University: Lisa Anderson, Gil Anidjar, Hamid Dabashi, Nicholas De Genova, Eric Foner, Todd Gitlin, Manning Marable, Joseph Massad, Victor Navasky

Cornell University: Matthew Evangelista

De Paul University: Norman Finkelstein, Aminah Beverly McCloud

Duke University: Miriam Cooke, Frederic Jameson

Earlham College: Caroline Higgins

Emory University: Kathleen Cleaver

Foothill College: Leighton Armitage

Georgetown University: David Cole, John Esposito, Yvonne Haddad, Mari Matsuda

Kent State University: Patrick Coy

Massachusetts Institute of Technology: Noam Chomsky

Metropolitan State College, Denver: Oneida Meranto

Montclair State University: Grover Furr

New York University: Derrick Bell

North Carolina State University: Gregory Dawes

Northeastern University: M. Shahid Alam,

Northwestern University: Elizabeth M. Brumfiel, Bernardine Dohrn

Occidental College: Tom Hayden

Penn State University: Michael Berube, Sam Richards

Princeton University: Richard Falk

Purdue University: Harry Targ

Rochester Institute of Technology: Thomas Castellano

Rutgers University: H. Bruce Franklin, Michael Warner

Rutgers University, Stony Brook: Amiri Baraka

San Francisco State University: Anatole Anton

Saint Xavier University: Peter N. Kirstein

Stanford University: Joel Beinin, Paul Ehrlich

State University of New York, Binghamton: Ali al-Mazrui

State University of New York, Buffalo: James Holstun

State University of New York, Stony Brook: Michael Schwartz

Syracuse University: Greg Thomas

Temple University: Melissa Gilbert, Lewis Gordon

Texas A&M University: Joe Feagin

Truman State University: Marc Becker

University of California, Berkeley: Hamid Algar, Hatem Bazian, Orville Schell

University of California, Irvine: Mark Le Vine

University of California, Los Angeles: Vinay Lal

University of California, Riverside: Armando Navarro

University of California, Santa Cruz: Bettina Aptheker, Angela Davis

University of Cincinnati: Marvin Berlowitz

University of Colorado, Boulder: Ward Churchill, Alison Jaggar, Emma Perez

University of Dayton: Mark Ensalaco

University of Denver: Dean Saitta

University of Hawaii, Manoa: Haunani-Kay Trask

University of Illinois, Chicago: Bill Ayers

University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign: Robert McChesney

University of Kentucky: Ihsan Bagby

University of Michigan: Juan Cole

University of Michigan, Ann Arbor: Gayle Rubin

University of Northern Colorado: Robert Dunkley

University of Oregon, Eugene: John Bellamy Foster

University of Pennsylvania: Regina Austin, Mary Frances Berry, Michael Eric Dyson

University of Rhode Island: Michael Vocino

University of South Florida: Sami al-Arian

University of Southern California: Laurie Brand

University of Texas, Arlington: Jose Angel Gutierrez

University of Texas, Austin: Dana Cloud, Robert Jensen

University of Washington: David Barash

Villanova University: Rick Eckstein, Suzanne Toton

Western Washington University: Larry Estrada

This entry was posted in A: Kirstein Academic Freedom Case. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply