DePaul Students, in the Tradition of the Finkelstein Tenure Travesty, Rally for Academic Freedom and Gender Justice


DATE: May 26, 2011

CONTACT: Heather Rakes, (773) 484-6119, or Lynne Bernabei or Eliza Dermody at Bernabei & Wachtel, PLLC, (202) 745-1942 or and

On Thursday, May 26, 2011 at 4:00 p.m., a group of DePaul University students will hold a rally to bring attention to and protest the DePaul administration’s pattern of discriminating against its professors – particularly those professors who focus on women’s studies and critical race studies – by denying them tenure based on their sex, race, and areas of scholarly focus.

Date, time, and location: Thursday, May 26, 2011, at 4:00 p.m., on DePaul’s Lincoln Park campus

Student organizers’ description of the event: The DePaul administration is taking away our best teachers and scholars. There is a disturbing, persistent trend in tenure cases at DePaul, most recently when philosophy Professor Namita Goswami was denied tenure. After a review process it was determined that her tenure denial was a violation of academic freedom, the first ruling of this kind in DePaul’s history. All of the denials in the same year were people of color. This violation is just one in a series, including Melissa Bradshaw’s tenure denial the previous year, along with several other women. Professor Bradshaw taught Queer Theory and was an advocate for LGBTQ students.

Remember Norman Finkelstein? He advocated on behalf of a colonized population. Come with fellow students, professors, and community members to learn more and get all the facts–you’ll be convinced of the series of violations. This is not welcome at DePaul, or anywhere. Come demand that President Holtschneider comply with the decisions of his own review board, reinstate our best teachers and scholars, and stop this unacceptable practice overall.

Confirmed speakers:

  • Melissa Bradshaw, former DePaul Women’s and Gender Studies professor who was unlawfully denied tenure in 2009
  • Ann Russo, DePaul Women’s and Gender Studies professor
  • Tina Chanter, DePaul Philosophy professor
  • O’Donavan Johnson, DePaul Philosophy graduate student
  • Azadeh Erfani, DePaul Philosophy graduate student
  • Namita Goswami, former DePaul Philosophy professor who was unlawfully denied tenure in 2010
This entry was posted in Academia/Academic Freedom. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply