Presidents’ Day is Racialism Day: Mt Rushmore honours Slaveowners!

Presidents’ Day should be abolished. It is unseemly to celebrate evil especially if Presidents’ Day has morphed from Washington’s Birthday to a full-court press in honour of these men. It is well to remember how evil so many were. Eight of the twelve slave-owning presidents actually held chattel persons during their tenure as president. Mt Rushmore, the ultimate visual disgrace, contains four presidents chiseled in stone of whom half owned enslaved persons. These were Mr George Washington and Mr Thomas Jefferson who believed African-American blackness was an “eternal monotony” unlike whites with “flowing hair, a more elegant symmetry of form…They seem to require less sleep [and] in reason [are] much inferior.” Notes on the State of Virginia. I did not see these racist writings on the walls of the Jefferson Memorial. Teddy Roosevelt was a racist warmonger and Abraham Lincoln was a centrist on the issue of abolition of the Peculiar Institution, as the south referred to it. Lincoln opposed civil rights and equal treatment under the laws for any freed person. This was the racist Mr Lincoln’s position on this issue at the fourth Lincoln-Douglas debate in Charleston, Ill. during his failed Senate bid in 1858:

“I am not, nor ever have been, in favor of bringing about in any way the social and political equality of the white and black races…nor ever have been in favor of making voters of the negroes, or jurors, or qualifying them to hold office, or having them to marry with white people.”

And now the Hall of Shame: To liberal historians who vote Democratic, can you really ignore this historical evil and minimise it in your historical assessment of these villains? Do slaveowners earn our respect and admiration or our opprobrium? It is time to burn the canon and light a candle of revisionism for historiographical justice.

1. George Washington 1789-1797 VA
3. Thomas Jefferson 1801-1809 VA
4. James Madison 1809-1817 VA
5. James Monroe 1817-1825 VA
7. Andrew Jackson 1829-1837 SC
8. Martin Van Buren 1837-1841 NY
9. William Henry Harrison 1841 VA
10. John Tyler 1841-1845 VA
11. James Knox Polk 1845-1849 NC
12. Zachary Taylor 1849-1850 VA
17. Andrew Johnson 1865-1869 NC
18. Ulysses Simpson Grant 1869-1877 OH

Number represents slaveowner’s sequential order as president. Barack Hussein Obama is the forty-fourth president and was not a slaveowner.

Mt Rushmore’s paean to slavery and slavemasters: #1 is Mr Washington, the “Father” of our slave country. I thought the Articles of Confederation preceded this man’s presidency! #2 is Mr Jefferson, the author of the Declaration of Independence. I think he left out enslaved persons including Sally. #3 and #4 are Mr T. Roosevelt and Mr Lincoln:

This entry was posted in Diversity and Race. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply